Print Thread
Hop To
L
luvmycz Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
L
Hoping I might be set upon the proper path with some suggestions. I have an m70 Zastava in 6.5 swede topped with a Swift 4x12 scope. Rate of twist according to Zastava is 230mm = 1:9 I want to use 140gr bullets if possible. Currently I'm using Sierra Gamekings to test with, but I have remington, noslers and speer boattails and plain bases to work with as well.

I am having trouble finding an accurate load. I am fairly new to rifle loading for accuracy so I am probably taking things out of order or doing unnecessary steps. I have access to a variety of powders and bullets so a lot of experimentation is possible. My groupings are on paper, but I'm only getting 3-4 inch groups at 100 thus far. I now have a Forster neck sizer for the case.

I have used the scope on another rifle with very good results.

I have several pieces of 1x used brass which I have full length re sized and trimmed with a lee case trimmer.

My process was to measure each case to ensure I was using the same length.

Load a bullet in an unprimed case to get the bullet as close to the rifling as possible.

Then I started using different powders with the same bullet in batches of 5.
I think this is where I ran into problems. I got lost in my documentation of trying to figure out what would work.

Could anyone suggest a methodical idiot proof way to find the accuracy potential of my rifle?

Last edited by luvmycz; 05/12/14.
GB1

U
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
U
Save yourself a lot of stress and money, consult manuals & pick bullet weight that does what you want & the powder that gives highest velocity(to start with). Than use Dan Newberry's OCW(Optimal Charge Weight)method. It has always worked for me!
You can chase something right into the grave &/or poverty which is fine if all you want to do is test chit. I want a good load that does what I want & then go shoot stuff!
Good luck
Cheers