Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Gary O Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Since I am not a doctor, I am hesitant about calling it altitude sickness. I am 67 years old and go to the gym 3 times a week for general fitness training. I started with 12 lessons from a PhD. in conditioning. He also is the trainer from a local college team. Anyway, I head up to the Sierras every year for a little fishing and hiking at about 8000 feet. This year I had signs of weakness, insomnia and shortness of breath while in bed, of all places. What say you? Thanks...

Gary

Never underestimate the likelihood that the Republicans will cave...

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I have a friend who has some of the same issues.

Lives close to Sea level and has issues when going up in altitude.

At 74 He has developed heart rate - blood pressure and pulse issues. He says he has little issues while at sea level.

"Sorry don't get it done, Dude"
John Wayne 1959
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
It appears that you live at about 200'. No amount of conditioning at low elevation can get you ready for the high country. Nothing will do that other than being in the high country. There are ways to mitigate the symptoms, but you can't stop it completely.

My partners and I all live at about 4k and we hunt at 7 to 8k. I'm the youngest of the bunch at 65. That's not nearly as much difference in elevation as you have, but even at that I can get to sucking air while hunting. Usually after my 1st hard day, I'm pretty well whacked for a day or two until I start to get acclimated.

β€œIn a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn