Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by toltecgriz
It really isn't that hard to do if the trunk is straight, but there's usually not quite so little room for error with a substantial penalty for failure.

Wonder if it was his house.

ya a 4-5 mile per h wind would change things up a little.
could see a slight curve in trunk as it came down , wonder if there was a lean or curve going same way as the tree????????.

norm

There is not enough darkness in all the world to put out the light of even one small candle----Robert Alden .
If it wern't entertaining, I wouldn't keep coming back.------the BigSky

T
Campfire Sage
Campfire Sage
T
Originally Posted by DigitalDan
Dat guy is good. Holy balz.....
Yep, and I've tried that trick (although my effort didn't require quite that level of precision). Fortunately a neighbor of mine is a tree man by profession and was willing to come over on a Sunday and help me get it falling in the right direction. Good thing I had tied the tree down such that it could only actually fall generally in the right direction, but it was wanting to fall towards the house, and I didn't know how long those ropes would hold as the weight of the tree was pulling them hard.

When he looked at my chainsaw cuts and arrangements (like the wedge and the ties), he said he was impressed that I seemed to do everything right, and he was surprised it wanted to go down the wrong way.

Just goes to show that no matter how carefully you study "how to" videos on YouTube, nothing beats experience.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Ballsy is right. I'm pretty sure my grandfather could've done it, saw him fell precisely right more than once. But I don't think he would've even considered trying that one. Now my smartass uncle would've tried it on a bar bet, he was almost as good as his dad.

The key elements in human thinking are not numbers but labels of fuzzy sets. -- L. Zadeh