Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
Originally Posted by gnoahhh

Personally, I never understood why the .32 Special hung on as long as it did. My Dad's best friend swore that his trusty M94 .32 was a waaaay better killer than any old .30-30, when we knew that there really isn't a lick of difference between the two in that respect. I guess we all have to create talismans to give us that "edge" in the deer woods!

Placebo effect? laugh

GB1

B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
Originally Posted by BradD

One other thing I've heard and read about was that the 32WS had a bad reputation for accuracy after the barrel started to get rough because of a slower barrel twist. I have no practical experience there and would be happy to hear if that is truly the case. I'm about to give 32WS a whirl through a very good bore and I'm hoping to see decent results.

I've heard and read this before as well. I did read an article a few years back where this was debunked.

B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
Originally Posted by BillR
Epps in Ontario had a Savage 1899 in 32 special a couple of months ago. Original barrel obviously re-chambered by Savage! (Bubba Savage who owned a junkyard along Highway 11)
Marking was much bigger than original and a different font. Since it was an 1899 H I suspect a 303 or 30-30 (because even Bubba Savage wouldn't have done that to a 25-35 .... or Bert would still be screaming!)
BillR

Just to be precise and picky, if the original barrel was changed from .303 or .30/30 to .32 special, it was both rechambered and rebored.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I enjoyed this article about the .32 Special.

http://www.levergun.com/articles/special.htm

Campfire Member
Campfire Member