-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Ever watch the ESPN outdoor stuff on Sat. and Sunday.. what a joke.. talk about way off base on reality...
<br>
<br>Here is a post I made to the hunting website. I go no response there and then I e-mailed them directly and I'll copy that at the end of this post...
<br>
<br>I live and work in Wyo. I am a professional guide and Guest Ranch Owner. I have watched ESPN outdoors on and off over the years and have become very dissapointed in the way they portray the Big Game hunting in the west. I will give an example. This morning watching the Hunters Almanac with Wayne Pearson: They show a multi-million dollar ranch with Elk sparing next to a pond on a perfect lawn. The show Wayne a guide and a hunter walking through a picture prefect stand of aspens to happen near two majestic trophy class bulls. Wayne stands in the back ground ( notice I said stands ) with a camera man and talks ( yes I said talks to the viewers ) Meanwhile, the guide calls a few times ( while STANDING there with the bull nearby ) and gets a nice bull to come within range of the hunter. While Wayne is standing there talking, never taking any responsibility to conceal himself from the bull. Wayne also blows on his cow call, which actually they show alerts the bull. The hunter comes to full draw while the bull is looking right at him. The hunter then arrows the bull which they find shortly thereafter.
<br>Great program? .... Hardly.
<br>I have been guiding for a number of years.. never have I been in any situation like that. The situation/expextation I do not appreciate is that the average "Joe Sportsman" watches this program and thinks that all hunting in the west is or should be like that.
<br>What I would like to see is a REAL western Elk hunt the way it REALLY is. No million dollar lodges with clients that make $500,000 dollars a year.