Home
Posted By: hanco Aoudad’s you have killed - 02/14/24
I’ve killed a few, have some on our lease. I hate them more than pigs

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

Posted By: hanco Re: Aoudad’s you have killed - 02/14/24
Got this turd with my compound bow, was lucky to get bow pulled back without scaring him off. They are more wary than a deer, maybe a better nose too.

Posted By: Full3r Re: Aoudad’s you have killed - 02/14/24
Cool pics hanco. Never have been afforded the opportunity to hunt them but they are in my bucket list. Hopefully one of these next 2-3 years.
Cool stuff Hanco. If you were going on a hunt for a trophy Auodad, what rifle and bullet combo would you use. I hear they’re tough animals, but I have no experience with them.

Ron
Posted By: beretzs Re: Aoudad’s you have killed - 02/14/24
They are cool looking animals though!
Aoudad are one cool critter. Probably not standing under a feeder, but in rough desert country they are impressive.

I know people like to hate them, but I've got nothing but respect for aoudad. Hell of a lot tougher than desert bighorns...

I've only shot a few but all were free range spot & stalk. No box blinds and feeders.
Originally Posted by Ohio7x57
Cool stuff Hanco. If you were going on a hunt for a trophy Auodad, what rifle and bullet combo would you use. I hear they’re tough animals, but I have no experience with them.

Ron

They aren’t hard to kill, but West Texas is long range hunting. I think I’d use a 7 mag out there
Posted By: Mike_S Re: Aoudad’s you have killed - 02/14/24
I have heard they don’t taste very good. Any truth to that?
Posted By: ingwe Re: Aoudad’s you have killed - 02/14/24
Originally Posted by Mike_S
I have heard they don’t taste very good. Any truth to that?

Nope.
Here's a few...
[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

Pretty cool pictures gentlemen!

Hanco, just curious you mentioned that you hate them more than pigs, why is that?

I always assumed that pigs were the most despised.