Home
Posted By: eclectic WY Antelope--Another Question - 01/04/12
I have kilt antelope in MT and ID. I've got the guns and gear required.

My kid and I have started hunting together again. She is in the East. We would like to try antelope this year. I have a spot to go in MT, but have been thinking this year would be better in WY.

Now to the question. Is there an area in WY reasonably close to an airport that she could fly into without resorting to tiny planes. That is could she book a commercial flight, me pick her up with guns and gear, and then drive an hour or so to hunt with a reasonable chance of success? If so, which airport?
I am not experienced with Wyoming airports, but you might check out the cheyenne area.
Casper.
Kaycee International....... cool

Dober
Cheyenne,Casper, Laramie, Rock Springs,Jackson and Gillette all have commercial airservice.
Some of them even offer a canvas you can put over your head if it rains while the sopwith camel is in the air.....
Casper is your best bet for sure.
In case you were unaware of it, I asked as I do not know if there is an area with a good huntable population within an hours drive of a commercial airport. You see, there are lots of things we do not know innately. Someone has to teach us. Now, I realize your mother forgot to teach you manners, but you are supposed to be an adult and with luck you will pick them up along the way.
Look at area 32 just south of Casper.

ddj
Thanks guys, I will begin looking around Casper, talk to the kid and maybe expand the search from there depending on what she wants to do.
Originally Posted by eclectic
In case you were unaware of it, I asked as I do not know if there is an area with a good huntable population within an hours drive of a commercial airport. You see, there are lots of things we do not know innately. Someone has to teach us. Now, I realize your mother forgot to teach you manners, but you are supposed to be an adult and with luck you will pick them up along the way.