Home
Would this load work on a hopped up, aggressive grizzly? Before he eats you? Assuming good shot placement, of course. Out of a revolver with a 4 inch barrel.

A friend of mine is saying a grizzly would laugh at this load. Says protection starts with a 44 Mag.

I am not an expert, just asking for opinions on the matter.
I wouldn't hold my breath. Unless the shot is in the exact right spot.
Originally Posted by bluestem
Would this load work on a hopped up, aggressive grizzly? Before he eats you? Assuming good shot placement, of course. Out of a revolver with a 4 inch barrel.

A friend of mine is saying a grizzly would laugh at this load. Says protection starts with a 44 Mag.

Yes it will work.

https://sportingclassicsdaily.com/d...97-success-rate-37-incidents-by-caliber/

My brother said exactly the same thing until we both shot into a 16" block of hard fir! My 357 out penetrated his 44 mag 300 grain hardcast lead bear loads by a minimum of 6" everytime and sometimes by as much as 10". Bear protection is a function of penetration and hitting CNS period!!! The 357 mag with Buffalo bore 180s does this function better than any 44 mag or 10mm for that matter. Please keep in mind however that you will get a lot of neighsayers who have never done it.....tested it......or know what there talking about. Buy yourself a box of 180 Buffalo bores and make your friend put his ass where his mouth is when you kick his ass good and hard shooting into a block of wood. Just be ready with a tissue to wipe his tears for him when your done
Does it come with a guarantee?

:-)

I'm not for or against. Probably a good load for that cartridge. Likely good'nuf the same way a seat belt is at 80mph.. Same as any other gun/cartridge combination.
You might Google "Phil Shoemaker 9mm charging Alaskan brown bear"....
A good load in a 357 sure beats trying to stick your thumbs in the the bear’s eyes.

I don't want to be snarky, but how many grizzlies has he run afoul of?