Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
M
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
M
Originally Posted by michiganroadkill
As far as I am concerned, 5 data readings are adequate to tell you something. Statistics are a good tool, but going to the nth degree never was meaningful to me when I ran manufacturing or with chronographs at the range. You don't have to go to three decimal places to know what is going on.

What does the data from the original post show for ave vel when you throw out the high and low of each 5 shot string????

What happens when the experiment is repeated????

If your equipment is not that repeatable/exact (scale, chrony,) then I personally would have little use for more data.

Just me, and I am just a hobbyist/hunter shooter.
Tim

Five, or three?

Why censor the high and low?

GB1

M
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
M
All sorts of stuff is inferred by shooters using short light-screen chronographs in varying temperature conditions, shooting too-small samples.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
R
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
R
Originally Posted by Whttail_in_MT
Originally Posted by bushrat
For all intensive purposes they may as well be mixed together and called the same load.

For all intents and purposes, I would think for all intensive purposes you would want more uniformity than that...

Why would your intent & purposes be so intensive? Shooting is supposed to be fun.laugh

"I never thought I'd live to see the day that a U.S. president would raise an army to invade his own country."
Robert E. Lee
M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
"Five, or three?