Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
H
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
H
Originally Posted by husqvarna
The latest edition of PET LOADS (includes all of the supplements) is available from Wolfe on line for $60.00.

I know, but it will not have all my notes in there, that took 20 years to figure out and write down!!!!!!

GB1

M
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
M
I keep my complete edition in the "reading room," page through it every morning, and almost always learn something.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I have always found Pet Loads to be very helpful. I always reference it when loading for a new cartridge. I've spent many enjoyable hours just reading about all the different cartridges and different rifles that were used in the testing.

`Bring Enough Gun`
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
As a college student I first encountered Pet Loads, helping Dad load for the many odd calibers he had collected. The .44-40 Hercules 2400 loads I brewed for a Colt SAA clone were a triffle too hot for a revolver, even if they were well under Mr. Waters' maximums. smile Dad still talks about them 28 years later.

That said, I found much of his writing about vintage calibers to be fascinating. They were thoughtful and scientific, yet not dry. He got into the quirks of his firearms, just as an everyday handloader sometimes encounters. I still have one letter Mr. Waters answered on the .32-40, and it was typed, well after the advent of word processors.

Reading some of the old posts in this thread, I can tell you the load development method I use:

1. Buy factory ammo for a new caliber and new gun.
2. Shoot it over the chrono to make sure it is up to snuff on velocity. I have learned this check the hard way, after discovering a batch of .25-06 that was 300 fps under spec.
3. Take the case pressure ring readings for reference, ala Waters.