Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Jeff_O Offline OP
Campfire 'Bwana
OP Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Curious about your experiences with heavy barrels. Do you feel there's a tangible accuracy benefit on average when going with a heavier profile than say a Sendero? Not talking about straight cylinder here.... tapered barrels in the Sendero/ #7/ #8 range. Thanks.

The rifle is for LR target shooting and hunting.

The CENTER will hold.

Reality, Patriotism,Trump: you can only pick two

FÜCK PUTIN!
GB1

J
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
J
No, not to me.

Jeff_O Offline OP
Campfire 'Bwana
OP Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Thanks. I've no experience with heavier than HV/Sendero. Obviously it then dictates stock options. Prefer to stay with Sendero profile UNLESS there's a solid reason to do otherwise.

The CENTER will hold.

FÜCK PUTIN!
F
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
F
I'm having good luck with benchmark #6 and Douglas #7's but a sendero is more than heavy enough if not to heavy for a packing rifle. That said

Jeff you are a machinist start heavy and if it to much turn the thing to what you need and stop asking stupid fn questions. If you want to get your post count up just start a new post for every sentence like others are doing.

Jeff_O Offline OP
Campfire 'Bwana
OP Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Fred, just googled those; it appears you've got the Sendero profile kinda bracketed there? Did you go heavier with the Douglas for the rigidity or to fit a stock you wanted to use, or what?

This rifle will suck to pack anyway. For the moment I don't want to get hung up on a pound this way or that. I'll eat another pound if it significantly ups my odds of a REALLY accurate rifle.

I don't want to buy oversize, mess with it, turn it down, etc....... for one thing, I'm buying a fluted barrel.

The CENTER will hold.

FÜCK PUTIN!
IC B2

F
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
F
Wanted something different. I all ready had several sendero REM varmint contour.