Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
D
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
D
I will leave the plastic for the toy guns buy Aluminum and be done.

GB1

M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
While I have no direct experience with this particular receiver, I do have a background in polymers and molding and can say this:

1. These lowers are produced from Nylon 6/6. Now there are many different grades of this polyamide and it is produced by several compounders worldwide so it is hard to say that the one they are using is the *best* blend for the application......however, as a general rule 6/6 is very tough and can take impact loads quite well. It also has good chemical compatibility for all things involved in cleaning a gun.

2. Their website mentions that they use a lot of fiber reinforcement. This is typically fiberglass and at a rate of 5% - 40%. Glass does add additional toughness and rigididy to plastic....especially Nylon....but if you go too high it also can become brittle. Lots of glass can also make the plastic difficult to mold uniformly.....although, with proper part and tool design, this can be overcome.

3. They claim to use brass inserts. This is where the big difference could be. Properly designed and located molded in inserts - threaded for the pistol grip and bushings for the pivot and rear pins - may make these receivers worth a look.

I can feel myself ordering one as I type.....

Last edited by m1919; 01/05/16.
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Thanks for the feedback. I think I'll pass on this for now.

"Hey jackass, get your government off my freedom."
MOLON LABE
Y
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Y
Originally Posted by m1919
While I have no direct experience with this particular receiver, I do have a background in polymers and molding and can say this: