Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Oracle
OP Online Happy
Campfire Oracle
I have no experience with torsion axles. I understand what they are and how they work.

Any horror stories or strong reasons to avoid them on a GN horse trailer?

If you take the time it takes, it takes less time.
--Pat Parelli

American by birth; Alaskan by choice.
--ironbender
GB1

Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
I have no experience with them but I did find this on the web. A couple notable items from it:
torsion axles can't be repaired. If something goes wrong, it must be replaced
On tandem axles, tire wear is better with springs.

The Torsion vs. Spring Axle Debate Demystified

Definitely go torsion. They have a smoother ride.
Leaf spring is the only way to go! Being able to fix my axles myself is really important to me.

Do these two quotes sound familiar? If you’ve done some searching around the web trying to discern the pros and cons of torsion vs. leaf spring axles, then you’ve probably encountered the myriad of contradictory opinions about which is better. In fact, we get questioned, daily, about the pros and cons of each and thought that we would try to demystify the choice a bit for you. After all, we sell both kinds of trailers and believe that each are great in their own way. So here’s an overview of the two types – torsion and leaf spring – in our attempt to help you make an informed decision on which kind of system is best for you and your trailer.

The Skinny on Torsion Axles

Torsion axles have a straightforward, attached construction with adjustable ride height and a rubberized suspension system. Four rubberized cords are inside the axle housing which handle suspension travel and shock absorption. As each wheel moves up and down, the rubber cords compress offering an even wheel suspension system for a smooth ride.