Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
E
EdM Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
E
Originally Posted by deflave
What I don't understand about the gun industry is how these people that don't have any idea what they're doing end up becoming employed.

I've met a lot of self-proclaimed "gun guys" and it usually takes about three minutes before you figure out they don't know much about anything.

Dave

That is not just a gun industry thing.

Conduct is the best proof of character.
GB1

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
Ill say this about Clay Harvey...He was a damn good writer from a talent standpoint imho. Its a shame he turned out to be a charlatan.

-Joe-

The "Anti-Tactical"

H
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
H
That's because blowing up equipment or yourself generally uses up more Murphy than a fishhook through the thumb....

F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
Originally Posted by Three30Eight
Very true...I work in the outdoor industry on the fishing side and its piled high over here as well...perhaps even a little higher. Gun enthusiasts and hunters seem more informed than anglers by a wide margin.

This.

Myself, as well, down here in FL, and I'd not call a majority of them "anglers" . . . that's misuse of the term's intent. Fishing shows and most fishing writers . . . pssshhh . . . don't get me started. 'Contempt' is too soft a word. Going by Steve's and JB's recollections, I'll say there are WAY too many Clay Harvey types in the fishing world, too; active, trusted, and even near worshipped.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I read his stuff favorably back in the '80's. I have to admit that he did a fine article on the 6.5 x 55 that caused me to get one. There are so many people that have first hand accounts of his shady doings that there is no question as to why he is no longer heard from.

Writers will sometimes get criticism for writing as if they threw a thesaurus in a blender and pulling words out to make descriptors at random. He was one.