Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
P
I am pretty new to reloading and have been doing some research on determining the most accurate loads. I have read about OCW test method and Ladder test method. With OCW method I understand that you shoot the different grain increments at multiple points of aim, looking for a charge range that has the best grouping and point of impacts, then dial in from there. Most of the tests I watched were done at 100yds. With the ladder test method, it is recommended to shoot at least 200yds to get see where the groupings start. I can understand the philosophy that it could hit point of aim at 100yd but still be 3-5" off at longer stances. I have always shot my guns in at 100yds and that has been that and whatever shot the best groups was what I would use. I use my guns for deer hunting primarily and longest shot may be 300yds but most commonly 100yds or less.

Which of these methods do you find the best to use or do you go with the load data that shots the best groups at 100yds.
Is shooting in at 100yds fine or should I be going out to 200yds.

Last edited by PA_Probe; 12/19/17.
GB1

A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
Once you decide on the load you SEE where it hits at longer distances. Not much on book values, myself.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
For the ladder method, the minimum distance IMHO should be 300 yards.

D
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
D
I think you may be over thinking it for 300 yard shots.

What cartridge are you shooting? Bullet? Speed? Try playing with a ballistic calculator to give you an idea of whats going on.

If its a reasonably flat shooting cartridge: Zero at 200, figure out your drop from 200 to 300 and go hunting.

P
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
P
Shooting a 260 remington and 7mm-08.