Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
P
prm Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
I'm just the opposite. Partitions seem to always shoot well while Accubonds are my nemesis. That's only a few rifles, but they are all the same. I really want Abs to shoot well. Then I get fed up and load up some TTSXs and they shoot lights out with no effort whatsoever...

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Choose a bullet for the game you are shooting. I started shooting whitetail deer with a 270 in 1980. I shot standard cup and core bullets in 130 grain. Those bullets were all too hard and gave no expansion unless they were put through the bones of both shoulders. They left small exit holes which sealed up with fat and left no blood trails when punched through the chest. I soon tired of looking for my deer and switched to 130 ballistic tips. Every deer I shot from then on were DRT. Now I have killed a ton of whitetails and a few pronghorn with ballistic tips, 130 grain in 270, 100 grain in 25-06, 95 grain in 243, and 140 grain in 7 Rem Mag. Only recovered one 95 grain from a buck my son shot end to end as it was facing him. Also shot a lot of hogs with the same and none of them complained.

I did try the 120 Ballistic Tips in the 7 Mag and was none to impressed. Those did not expand. I learned they were given thicker jackets for some reason (was told per request of metallic silhouette shooters). But the 120 grain V-Max and the 140 Ballistic Tips performed wonderfully. The only experience I had with blood shot ruined meat from a ballistic tip was with the 55 grain out of a 220 Swift. Stopped using those for deer and switched to the 63 grain Sierra which performs perfectly.