Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
Campfire Tracker
OP Online Content
Campfire Tracker
R
My brother just bought a contender at an auction it appears to be an early one...3 barrels. Oct 22 Oct 22 k hornet and 44 mag wit a rifled choke....
We need to know about the choke...

GB1

C
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
C
If I'm remembering correctly, the choked TC barrels were called Hot-Shot barrels for using shot capsules with the choke attached and conventional loads with the choke removed.
A hunting buddy used his for grouse.

They were sold with a wrench to remove the choke but I don't remember if they had a thread protector included to spin on when the choke was removed.

Speer shot capsules might work but I've no experience with them.

Good luck!

"Camping places fix themselves in your mind as if you had spent long periods of your life in them.
You will remember a curve of your wagon track in the grass of the plain like the features of a friend."
Isak Dinesen

R
Campfire Tracker
OP Online Content
Campfire Tracker
R
Yea that's what I figured but it kind of doesn't make sense as the rifling is cut in the choke leading me to believe you can shoot bullets through it...I don't think I would shoot it without the choke might ruin the threads...

M
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
M
I read a long time ago that those rifled chokes had no twist rate. They were straight. The idea being to reduce spin on the shot and hold a better pattern. It was in an old reloading book I had in my teens by Dean Grennel, The ABC's of Reloading.

Take a close look and see if that choke has the straight rifling.

T
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
Originally Posted by MontanaMarine
I read a long time ago that those rifled chokes had no twist rate. They were straight. The idea being to reduce spin on the shot and hold a better pattern. It was in an old reloading book I had in my teens by Dean Grennel, The ABC's of Reloading.

Take a close look and see if that choke has the straight rifling.