Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
O
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
O
I shot my first double on Valley Quail with an old Winchester 42 in .410 way back in 1956 or 57. Shot all sorts of game with it over the next few years. The 28 is much more as others has said. Close to the 20 ga. even with 3/4 oz. loads. Just broke 19 out of 25 at wobbles trap with my new 686 Beretta.
Had an 870 Remington for a few years. Killed a respectable number of Blue Grouse and some Mtn. Quail with it. Unfortunately it had too many QC problems. Even when out of warranty. Sold it and got the 686. E

GB1

D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
I've been using a 28 on pigeons over my dog's for several years now, AyA matador. With the first flat of target loads I also got a mec 600 Jr. Started using it's little brother on pigeons with the dog's this year, 410 Matador. I don't shoot it near as well but all I've use so fat has been 1/2 oz loads. Yesterday I dug out my 16ga Matador and tell ya what, forgot how nice it was the shoot. If I ever hunt pheasant again it will be what I use. The 28 really won me over though. Soon as I get in a bunch of money, due in early Sept, got my eye on a Parker Reproduction in 28ga. If it get's sold before I can get to it, number two is a Merkel in 28ga. If that get's sold #3 is a CSM in 28 ga. Don't get to it I may just lay down and cry. This is gonna be my once in a lifetime shotgun! Once i get it, the 28ga Matador goes off to Missouri for a new stock! Gonna try the 410 on grouse this year too if I can find some grouse. Long way to there from where I live.

D
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
D
Originally Posted by Magnum_Bob
Originally Posted by Dirtfarmer
Originally Posted by jt402
gitem, my state of mind, exactly. I have a Browning Superposed 20 and a Benelli Montefeltro 20. I have tested both for function with loads as light as the low noise, low recoil loads at 980 fps. They work. All other 7/8 oz should work well.