-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Ok so for about 18 months I've caught the 22 Rimfire long range bug and been plinking out to 400 odd yards with my little CZ and 40g Solids - supersonics for the most part. Have also played with some 40g Subsonics but with my scope I can only get them out to about 330y before I run out of ele.

In both the super- and sub-sonic rounds I've shot lots of come-ups, and both check out with a BC of somewhere between .135 and .140. The only real difference I can discern is MV which runs about 1250 and 1050 fps respectively.

ANYWAY..... Why is it that with virtually identical BC, the supersonics with the far superior MV drift MORE in the wind? Doesn't shorter time in flight equal less wind drift?

I'm a relative novice with the LR shooting generally - it's a genuine query.

GB1

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Strange things happen to a bullet when it goes transonic

Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Thanks Rock.

I don’t understand why though. I thought someone here might know...

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Found this on another site a while ago ,

Nearly all standard velocity 22 Long Rifle ammo is subsonic from the muzzle, and thereby avoids any transonic issues entirely. This is one of the reasons most standard velocity ammo tends to be more accurate than High Velocity fodder. This is also why you almost never see supersonic High Velocity ammo used in smallbore matches. Nasty things happen when a bullet goes transonic, but as has already been pointed out here, some bullets handle this better than others.

Kevin Thomas
Lapua USA

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Also

Lots of mystery surrounding transonic instability and how it limits range for some bullets.