Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#13535223 02/06/19
A
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
A
I'm about to rebarrel a 700 30-06 and make a 6.5-284 norma. Getting pacnor to make the barrel and chamber it for me. I'm opting for the .297nk per their recommendation. The question i have next is they wanted to know if I wanted .060 freebore or .188. I had to do research to even know what freebore was.......now that I do im not sure what is the better option. im most likely gonna be shooting 130-140 grain bullets most of the time, but might load some 115-120's and see how they shoot. My question is would i be at a disadvantage with the smaller bullets that might not be as long if I opt for the longer freebore? it would be giving these bullets a greater jump to the lands.....if im thinking about this correctly.

I'm no expert in this field so don't bash me if i said something stupid in the post. Just looking for what would you do and maybe some explanation to help me think through this better.

This will be a hunting rifle 99.9% of the time and then maybe some playing with longer distances over 500-600. not looking for a 1000 yard gun....just FYI.

GB1

T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
Some good info I just posted on another 6.5x284 question. http://www.6mmbr.com/sixfive284.html

A .297 neck means you will have to turn necks slightly, is that what you want? The article recommends 0.299" for a no turn hunting rifle.

As far as free bore I would go with the shorter length as you mentioned shooting bullets less than 140 grains. I like the shorter neck as it leaves room to grow as the throat erodes and if it does not work then easy enough to lengthen it. With max loads you will be chasing the lands with as few as a 1000 shots or less.

Last edited by Tejano; 02/07/19.

"When you disarm the people, you commence to offend them and show that you distrust them either through cowardice or lack of confidence, and both of these opinions generate hatred." Niccolo Machiavelli
A