Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by hatari
Originally Posted by AB2506
Minority Liberal government.

Some parts of this country just never learn.

It might be worth an explanation for those south of your border not familiar with the parliamentarian form of government about what a "minority government" is for you. It does not mean Obama and his sons take over (yet)

hatari;
Top of the morning to you sir, I hope the day in Atlanta is treating you well thus far.

While I'm no expert on such matters, I'll do my best to deliver a quick layman's explanation of a minority government.

For a party to win a majority they would need to get more than half of the 336 total seats in the parliament. Because we had 5 parties running nationally and another 6th party in Quebec, it's not a matter of either or as it appears to be in the US for the most part.

When any bill is sent through the legislature, if it doesn't pass, the government loses it's mandate to run the country and we start all over again.

Since the Trudeau Liberals lost a lot of ground this time, electing 155 seats - many of them through very, very slim margins - they will have to partner with members of other parties to get the legislation through.

Interestingly I'll note that the Conservatives had 34.4% of the popular vote as opposed to the Liberals slipping down to 33.1% this time around.

There is, as noted by previous posters already a giant chasm in representation as well, with ZERO Liberals being elected west of Ontario other than some in the Lower Mainland/Greater Vanocouver area. So if you good folks think you've got a monopoly on division within your country, please note we're doing our best to show the another shining example!