Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
R
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
R
Originally Posted by Birdwatcher
And if you can find them and they fit your budget, Ortleib panniers front and back are absolutely the way to go. Completely watertight and mine have seen hard use for seven years now, battered but still good as new functionally.

I hear you on all that equipment and components. I have been thinking much the same. I don't have the Schwinn in hand yet. I do have the sellers word that it will be there tomorrow. It is supposed to have been completely serviced at a LBS including packing bearings. I have a series of master mechanics classes scheduled through a local bike Co Op and intend to completely go through it anyway. Then the Natchez Trace before Colorado. Going to try to stay with the 27's for a while. I've had some good suggestions for touring tires at the bike forums.

Ringman
I am a little hesitant to just post my address. Sort of feels like if I do I might be expecting gifts for nothing. I'm gracious enough to accept a gift,I just want to be classy enough not to ask,so anyone can PM me and talk cheap equipment or trades or whatever. Besides,I could wind up with more than one of something if folks just sent me something they were done with.Thanks!

Last edited by R_H_Clark; 02/05/20.

S
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
S
Join the club! I once rode a bicycle from central Georgia, to Steamboat Springs Colorado. Fun trip.

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Re touring tires: I’d be curious as to your tire recommendations. I’m funny about tires, over the last seven years I’ve destroyed about every model of tire there is, including THREE Schwalbe Marathon Plus Tours, which is the toughest/heaviest street tire I’ve found.

So when I read some tire recommendations I wonder where these people have been riding. In particular avoid Panracers like the plague, they get their “compliant” ride from thin sidewalls, I tore em the first time out.