Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
As posted above, rules #1,2 and 3 for retiring are no debt, no debt and no debt.
We based our ability to retire on being able to live on interest without touching principal and excluding SS.
Once SS kicks in a few months from now I'll be shopping for a new truck.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I retired four years ago at 61 when my company was making reductions in the workforce. Got 56 weeks of severance pay on top of the pension, 401k and Roth I already had already built. Wife is 8 years younger and still working. I had a detailed budget worked out and have met it so far. Take a half dozen hunting and fishing trips a year, bought a new boat and a new truck for my wife. Life has unexpected events but I budgeted for that too, furnace needed replace in 2016, I had cancer surgery in 2018 and the wife had a hip replacement last year. We still met our budget. I started drawing SS at 64 and got Medicare last year, still pay for my wife's health insurance through my former employer. Even with the health issues and cost (we are both fully recovered) our retirement nest egg is bigger now than when I first retired.
We were debt free for five years before I retired. My budget includes changes when my wife retires and we expect to spend less as we get older and travel less and maybe downsize the house.

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Just retired July 2019 at 62. Had been working with a financial adviser for many years. Built a new house in 2016 and still had a hefty mortage, but it was built into our financial plan. Based on what we had and what we spend each month, our adviser calculated we could over spend by $2200 each month every month and would still be good until age 95. Obviously there is no way we are going to over spend like that, but it's nice to know the cushion is there. Once we knew this, deciding to retire was easy.

3825 24336
F
Campfire Outfitter