Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
H
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
H
Although I have been reloading for over 10 years, I'll admit I don't know a lot about how gun powder is made.
Without a Democrat running the white house it seems there currently isn't a mad rush to load up on ammo and guns.
Understanding us reloaders do practice hoarding at times, why are so many gun powders hard to find?
What's going on with the powder manufacturers that they can't keep supplies up?

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Not seeing a shortage here-abouts (western NYS, northern tier of PA). Lots of powder, most brands, and most flavors sitting on the shelves of the 2 shops I frequent. One of them even tracked down a few pounds of RL26 for me last year.
Powder Valley is a great outfit to deal with should you want to mail order some supplies.
I think we reloaders are competing with the factories and Uncle Sam for some supplies. Plus many powders seem to have a long pipeline being produced overseas.
I can say, with confidence, that even if a certain powder is not on the shelf, there are 2 or 3 or 4 comparable powders sitting there ready to go.
While RL26 might be the new wonder powder, 4831 has provided wonderful performance in my 270's for a long time. Be flexible.
Also think that there are so many "new" powders, that a small shop could never afford to inventory every one of them.
Good shooting!

Imagine your grave on a windy winter night. You've been dead for 70 years.
It's been 50 since a visitor last paused at your tombstone.....
Now explain why you're in a pissy mood today.
L
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
L
I can't find RL26 anywhere.

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R