Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 8 of 11 1 2 6 7 8 9 10 11
CWT Offline
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I think I killed my first deer in 1975,in any event I used a 30-06 with a 150 grain SGK and still use that bullet today. That bullet does tremendous damage to a whitetail. With heart/lung shots some of the deer dropped in their tracks but the vast majority took off like they weren't even hit. Of course they didn't run far.

Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms should be a convenience store; not a government agency.
GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I have been running 90 grain NBT's for many years. Bullet performance has always been outstanding. Youngsters and ladies appreciate the low recoil. I have filled many a doe tag with this load, and never had a problem recovering game.

Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by Mule Deer
Nathan13,

Which brings up another subject. Would that buck qualify as a DRT? I have always interpreted DRT ("dead right there" or "dropped right there") as falling straight down and not moving on the bullet's impact. But upon questioning other hunters, some have said they consider it a DRT whenever they see animal fall, even if it runs after the shot.

Interesting question. Hadn't cogitated about it before, but I suppose one could argue that 100% of deer that are taken, are "DRT". Whether they drop on the spot or run 100yards, where ever they fall, they are: dead...right...there! grin

M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
Yep, and unless they have wings, they die in their tracks!

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
R
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
R

There's DRT then there's DROT dead right over there, I like DRT the best. Rio7

IC B2

A
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
A
Originally Posted by jwall
Originally Posted by alwaysoutdoors