Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
M
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
M
Filaman,

That's interior temperature, not surface temp.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
GB1

F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
OK but won't it cool all parts too quick if you just ice it down?

What goes up must come down, what goes around comes around, there's no free lunch. Trump's comin' back, get over it!
M
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
M
Depends on the size of the meat chunk! But some ice mixed with the water bath won't cool it nearly as quickly as putting the meat inside a pile of ice cubes.

Most meat-care research originates with commercial meat, due to economics, but it also usually applies to game meat. The University of Wyoming does a lot of research with game meat, and in fact their research is where I started learning a lot about what actually happens (rather than depending on hunter conjecture) around 40 years ago.

Some of the toughest big game meat I've ever eaten was from a forkhorn mule deer buck, killed cleanly with one shot on a cold November day. It should have been very tender, but my hunting partner and I hung the field-dressed buck up outdoors, with the hide on. That night the temperature dropped below zero, and the buck was totally frozen by morning, and even though I hung the carcass for a week afterward inside a garage, both to thaw and allow the meat to age some, the meat still turned out to be really chewy. That's probably still the most extreme example of cold-shortening I've ever seen, but today am still very leery of too-quick cooling.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
Originally Posted by Mule Deer
Depends on the size of the meat chunk! But some ice mixed with the water bath won't cool it nearly as quickly as putting the meat inside a pile of ice cubes.