Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
C
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
C
Originally Posted by CashisKing
We have a similar challenge in West Virginia that I am studying as well.

Our property is 305 Acres. There is currently about three and a half miles of road on the mountain. It was originally set to be a subdivision for fat cats in Northern Virginia. We purchased it after it fell on its face. There is no power on the property.

Plan a will be to build a cabin at the maximum distance for free Power Drop. Most states have a law that they will provide Power to a property building a house but they limit the amount of run to typically 500 feet or a thousand. I have found that distance to be negotiable in the past.

Once that cabin is built and Power is established I will ponder building another cabin another thousand feet of the road and request again another Power Drop.

So on and so forth. Eventually I expect to be denied.

At this point I plan to trench in my own conduit. I will exit power from the last built house or shop to a step up voltage transformer that I purchase and install myself. From this Transformer I will run transmission line Underground to my final house location on top of the mountain. I will then install a Step Down Transformer re-establishing useful voltage. This is permissible in West Virginia... I have no idea if it is permissible in your state.

Plan B will be solar. The efficiency of solar panels is growing exponentially.

Good luck in your Pursuits.

For those that might ask why step-up and step-down Transformers. To save a cost on wire over distance and also to mitigate voltage drop.

Plan C is to convince a cell phone company they need to have a tower on top of my mountain and let the bastards do the work for me.

If you are not actively engaging EVERY enemy you encounter... you are allowing another to fight for you... and that is cowardice... plain and simple.

GB1

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B