-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I hear a lot of people complain about the differential lock or lack thereof, on the Honda's. Frankly, I don't see the big deal, i've been riding Honda's pretty much exclusively for about 18 years now and ever felt that i needed the diff lock. I don't ride a lot of the nasty mud and I don't get stuck that often, experience has taught me well over the years on how to read a creek, river or mudhole. Good tires make a huge difference as well, that coupled with experienced riding can make a huge difference. I like Honda's, always have and always will but there are a lot of very good machines out there, you just have to find the one's thats best for you.

That's ok, I'll ass shoot a dink.

Steelhead

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Speaking only for myself, once you have used a Diff lock you will never want an open diff again. Especially in snow.

It's simply amazing, in operation. It's why a bobcat has diff lock to do what it does. Although it's skid steer, it still has all four wheels locked.

Now this can go the other way too, the Can Am has a diff lock that is simply the most dangerous design I've ever seen or driven. It requires some wheel spin to engage. The engagement can occur at any moment and with rather high RPM. It can and has nearly ripped the grips out of my hands when climbing a steep rutted road. So I see the bad in poor Diff lock designs as well. I much prefer to select when I want it and when I don't.