Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 9 of 17 1 2 7 8 9 10 11 16 17
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Mule Deer,

BTW, I think we're mainly still concentrating on the subject of adequate penetration to reach the vitals. As has been mentioned before in this thread, the .45-70 has plenty of penetration to do that but so does a .30-06 with a 220 gr solid.

We know from his article that Brian did not face a charge or have to stop a charge. As I stated, I have no experience with Buff (or any other dangerous game) but my readings on the subject seem to indicate that there seems to be a difference in being able to kill a Buff (or Elephant or Rhino) as opposed to having an adequate "stopping rifle" for when things go sour. Do you think there is some combination of bullet weight, caliber, energy, momentum, etc. that comes into play that enables the traditional African dangerous game cartridges to have an advantage when trying to stop a Buff in a charge?

-Bob F.

"Whose bright idea was it to put every idiot in the world in touch with every other idiot? It's working!" -- P. J. O'Rourke
GB1

M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
The only way I have seen to surely stop a charge from a buffalo is to hit him somewhere in the brain or spine--or break enough legs that he can't run anymore. You can hit them with as many foot-pounds as you like (or bullet diameter or weight, or whatever) and the reaction will zero unless you break the charging machinery.

JB

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M