Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
rte Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by yukon254
Interesting on the aspirin. Im an EMT and we are taught not to give aspirin if we suspect a stroke because it can make the bleed worse?

Only if it's a hemorrhagic stroke,which only account for 13% of strokes.

87% of strokes are Ischemic,which is caused by an occluded artery or rarely an occluded vein.

I hope you fully recover Dave.

Communist Goals

26. Present homosexuality and degeneracy as normal.
27. Discredit the Bible.
28. Eliminate prayer in the schools.

http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/news/1561529/posts

Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Honestly, given our demographic here, as sportsmen alone much of the time, or otherwise out and about, I wish there were more views. This was a bomb out of the sky for me. Back to top.

I suggested aspirin because of the percentages between bleeders and clotters, which I already knew. If you're on "blood thinners" already, make sure to ask your doctor NOW (you're already seeing one, already "under care" ) so you're able to ask if you're a "candidate" and make the right preparations if so. Me? I don't even know my blood type yet. And if you've had TIA, keep in mind the next one might not be "transient." And if it isn't, it WILL rank among the worst things that ever happened to you.

Up hills slow,
Down hills fast
Tonnage first and
Safety last.
Y
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Y
Originally Posted by gsganzer
I might just add a word of caution on the aspirin and maybe someone with more medical knowledge can chime in.

Strokes come in two flavors, blockage or bleeder. In the case of blockage (which is probably the majority of strokes), aspirin is a good move. However, in the case of a bleeder (hemorrhage) the aspirin will make it worse.