Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Years ago I saw one of those displays of cut open oil filters. A friend told me how Fram, a highly trusted brand, had cheapened their products to the point that they were no longer trustworthy.
The Old story of a company getting to the top, then allowing their competitors to catch and surpass them in the name of profits.
Long story short, I’ve been using Wix filters in everything for 35 years now.
But recently a problem arose. I bought a used 2010 Ranger in February.
I stopped in the parts store and grabbed a filter and oil, but when I tried to put the new filter on, It wouldn’t thread. Comparing the two, I saw the old one had a slightly larger diameter thread. I stuck the old one back on, figuring they’d given me the wrong filter.
As a precaution, I took the old one off and took Wifey’s car to get a new one. The new Wix again looked different, so they pulled out a Delco, which matched. The Delco went right on.
I’m wondering if maybe Wix’s tooling Maybe got messed up so the new ones for that model don’t work? Anybody else ever experienced something similar?
I learned as a teenager to always stake tho Old one along to compare, so you know the new one will work.
7mm

"Preserving the Constitution, fighting off the nibblers and chippers, even nibblers and chippers with good intentions, was once regarded by conservatives as the first duty of the citizen. It still is." � Wesley Pruden

C
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
C
I've always been well served by Wix filters. They make so many different filters I guess it's inevitable that a part number will get mixed up in a catalog or something like that and the listed filter doesn't fit. I wouldn't get too upset about it, things happen.