Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
V
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
V
Well my 65 year long gun buying career/hobby is coming to an end.
I decided last year that come December 31st 2,021 I would stop buying Rifles and pistols.
It is going to be difficult.
But I am determined.
I have been buying guns since I was 9 years old (1956) and my father encouraged me and my two brothers to save our allowances and pop-bottle money and he would take the money and buy us a 22 Rifle.
I will never forget the day dad took us boys to Seattles Skid Road and used our pooled monies to buy us a nifty used Remington 511-A bolt action clip fed 22 Rifle from Kauffmans Pawn Shop.
We brothers were in heaven with our new treasure.
Soon I started saving my monies for "my own" Rifle that I would not have to share with my older and younger brothers.
Been buying/selling/trading guns ever since.
But all things must come to an end and in July 2,022, when I turn 75, I will begin selling off my lifelong collection.
Back on December 23rd of 2,021 I was on my way to the Bozeman, Montana airport and stopped in at my favorite Montana gunshop where they have been selling off three LARGE estate gun collections.
Decided to put on lay-a-way a couple of mint guns as I did not want to take them with me on the flight.
First gun was an as new in the box Smith & Wesson Model 17-6 with a full lug 6" barrel and all target options on this 6 shot revolver. The pistol even had all the paperwork and the un-opened screwdriver and cleaning accessories envelope. This pistol is so cool and feels so good in my hands I just could no longer resist buying it. And the unusual (rare) full lug barrel and finger groove "Target Grips" should make it easy to re-sell come July.
The other gun I put on layaway reminded me so much of that first Remington Model 511-A that I started with.
It is a minty Belgium Browning 22 T-Bolt with checkered stock and a matching gloss finish Leupold 4 power compact rimfire scope.