Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
N
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
N
I started at 17 and was self taught but I had been reading gun mags for years and picked up some tips there even before I started loading. I started with a Lyman Spartan press and a manual scale. I read the instructions in a Speer manual and the die set and went to it.

It’s a simple process and you can make it as simple or as complicated as you want.

NRA Life,Endowment,Patron or Benefactor since '72.
GB1

D
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
D
Originally Posted by Theoldpinecricker
A few years ago my friend croaked on me who I used to pound steel with. He crafted my ammo that we used and had the implements to do so. Since I've cavemanned my own and it's confusing as hell with die sets, expanders, measuring implements and gouges and all the bits and bobs. I slum blackpowder some but it's still a mystery to me. Why does this have to be so tool and time intensive? Even some of my new current reloading book have errors in them I've caught and it just makes things worse. I wish brass didn't have to be so far out of shape, wish things were simpler. I get by but it's not fun at times and there's some frustration. Anneal, trim, Guage, measure. Does anyone find it a pain and share in frustration?

Get a copy of the Western Powder load manual, it has very well illustrated and clearly written instructions on reloading. I will go so far as to say that it is IMO the best load manual ever written for someone just getting into the game.

With a little searching it can be found for less than this price but even at this it is a bargain - https://www.amazon.com/Western-Powders-Handloading-Guide-Reloading/dp/B0051521C4/ref=sr_1_1?crid=296AKV5IPJS4V&keywords=western+powders+load+manual&qid=1654962847&sprefix=western+powder+load%2Caps%2C1074&sr=8-1

drover

223 Rem, my favorite cartridge - you can't argue with truckloads of dead PD's and gophers.