Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by bearstalker
Originally Posted by The_Real_Hawkeye
Originally Posted by FVA

Scary stuff. If it was a Weatherby, there is starting to be a pattern.
I was under the impression that Weatherbies, with their extra bolt lugs, were among the safest bolt guns ever made. What pattern are you referring to?

I'm curious as well.
Me too - does this mean we are really talking about Howa being responsible?

When a country is well governed, poverty and a mean condition are something to be ashamed of. When a country is ill governed, riches and honors are something to be ashamed of
. Confucius
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger

I think we'd better let the dust settle here before guessing which rifle gave up the ghost. First, let's hope the shooter is ok or will recover.

Second, I'm no expert on Mexican Mausers and I don't know what is meant by mentioning Wby's but I researched the "Blaser Blow-up(s)" which were all over the 'net a couple of years ago and the problem was determined to be with handloads which were hotloads -very hot. Blasers IIRC are tested to > 112k psi.

I hedged on the whether the blow-ups were plural or not because at the time there was so much hear-say going around about this one or that one; I could find but one documented one in Europe was it found by an independant group in Germany to have been an ammo problem.

gdv

T
Campfire Sage
Campfire Sage
T
Originally Posted by FVA
While I've seen pic's of other rifles "blown up" I have read of at least two instances of Weatherby's having their bolt blown out the back with dire consequences. I think the issue is that while Weatherby's lugs add up in theory to alot of strength, they are in fact seldom all in contact and can set up a dominoe effect in a overload situation.