Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
I’m wanting to get into some black powder hunting and want to get a muzzleloader. I’m looking for suggestions on a modern set up that will have 200 to 250 yard accuracy. I can use a scope in my state and I will be hunting Whitetail deer and hogs.

Looking at the newer stuff from CVA and not really concerned about budget. I’m a buy once cry once guy. What other suggestions and what model would you recommend?

I’m brand new to this

GB1

M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
Been browsing around the muzzleloaders.com website this morning. It’s interesting that a lot of the lower priced stuff is getting a higher star rating with more reviews, than the stuff that’s $500-$1000. Particularly I was looking at the CVA Accura MX and several negative reviews. However, the TC impact and CVA wolf have lots of five star reviews and a higher by far average rating.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
A break-action inline is the easy button for those who just want to hunt, not play pioneer. I’ve plated with several inlines, bolts, BAs, and a Werndl knockoff, and all have shot just fine, with varying degrees of time and trouble needed for maintenance. I know people like to dream about taking long pokes, but a little studying of the ballistics will show that hitting way out there is complicated by a lot of drop and wind deflection, at least with the usual sabotted stuff. I wouldn’t attempt such shots without trying them on paper first. I’m done with inlines for now, but if getting back in, I’d look at the Optima 2 (IIRC), and maybe that one that takes the little breech-loaded tubes, recently legalized here. Seems to work okay and certainly it’s convenient.

Meanwhile, I’m doing my “cheating” with a couple of sidelock TCs with MagSparks and BH209. Using iron sights though; there limits even to my teensy-tiny sense of shame 😜

What fresh Hell is this?
M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline