Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Campfire Savant
Online Content
Campfire Savant
I have a couple, really like them, good performance, little recoil at all.

GB1

CRS Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by hanco
I have a couple, really like them, good performance, little recoil at all.

Load up some 110 or 130 with low to middle powder charges and it becomes a pussycat. Started nephews and sons with reduced to moderate loads and they worked great.

Can always do it with smaller cartridges too, but I am so far entrenched in 270 rifles and reloading supplies...

Arcus Venator
J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J
Have some .270 brass in the tumbler as I write this. One load is 130 grain Balistic Tip that I've been using for many years and the other is going to be .150 grain Nosler Partition, might go elk hunting this fall with it. Like some on you, I bought my .270 several years ago, 1979. It has served me well as my deer rifle since with the exception of maybe 5 seasons when I used something else.

C
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
C
My .270 story starts as a twelve years old.
My Dad had a Husqvarna, it was kept in the open and I had already been shooting positions for a couple of years with a .22 at the local armory and plinking around.
Well, it given to me as a birthday gift, this was amazing! Luckily, my Uncle drew me into his reloading room and so it began.
I carried that rifle for years, but as I got a little older , decide to buy a lightweight version. It was easier to carry, barrel was shorter. Another .270 wcf.
Now, I have 4
Model 700, Browning B78 and a takedown BLR.
Of course I tried other chamberings and always prefered the .270 wcf.
It suits me and I know what the capabilities are.
On bigger ,tougher Game, use a tougher bullet.
It is the bullet, not the bullet diameter that makes the difference, imo.

J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J