Campfire Regular
Some good info here from guys who clean a LOT of barrels:

GB1

L
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
L
well I'm glad to report my somewhat controversial down to bare metal cleaning has resulted in exactly what I hope to see. a rifle that was shooting around an inch and a half group at 50 yards to shooting a half inch group at 50 yards.. now to get the Target down range and get loads dialed in..

another note on extended brush life I use carburetor cleaner to spray out brushes with after being in harsher cleaning solutions.

L
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
L
Originally Posted by Woodhits
Some good info here from guys who clean a LOT of barrels:

good stuff .
I'm a fan of just letting the bird tell me what it wants.
and today's affordable horoscope options it's easier to keep track of than ever.

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
I have been using Wipe out foaming bore cleaner for the past ten years now. It does a really good job. Save a ton on time. Well worth the cost.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by Buckstopper
Using Butch's, I rinse the bronze brush off with water immediately after using. I haven't noticed a problem with the brushes deteriorating.

I keep a small pump spray bottle of 90% alcohol in my range box and spray the brushes with that. Works good and the brushes last a long time.

Forbidden Zoner
IC B2

M
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
M
I use red can CRC Brakleen for spraying out brushes.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by Teal
I don't clean until accuracy falls off and like others, I'm not sold on a hospital sterile barrel/clean. That said Cortina used CLR a bit but seems to have stopped.

Here's his latest deal I could find on it. First 3 mins he goes over what he's using - rest of the vid is a how to so to speak.

Sounds a lot like "You should not use it", "I'm still going to, I'm just not going to tell anyone".