-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Gentlemen, <BR> I'm looking for an efficient Long Action cartridge to be built into a custom mountain rifle. Looking for modest recoil, fairly flat shooting, and yet have enough authority for a 300 yard shot. Cartridge would have to develop its potential with a 24" barrel. Going with a LA due to a new stainless 700 LA donor action and McMillan Mountain Rifle stock. Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Would especially like to hear from Dr. Howell. Thank you, Matt.<P>

NRA Life Benefactor Member
GB1

C
CCW Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
C
Matt,<BR>I'm not a gun expert or anything close, but I have been checking into the exact same project and I think I'm going with the .280 Ackley Improved. Just something for you to check out. Make your own choices, but it looks rather impressive to me.

Center of the Nation Outfitters<BR>Wyoming Deer and Antelope hunts
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Cal, <BR> Thank you for your reply. I have also been giving serious consideration to the .280 Improved and the .280 Remington. Best, Matt.

J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J
Hi Matt,<BR>I was fascinated by this same subject about ten years ago before making my decision. The .280 in standard form is just a .270 with 10 grains more of bullet weight, the AI is a different story. I just stuck with the .270, since I wouldn't be using anything any heavier than a 150. The .280 might require a little more work (load development) to get the accuracy you want, but it probably boils down to a personal choice. Ask Echols and Miller which rifle they would build in a standard (non magnum) cartridge, they know more than all of us combined.<BR>JB

Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular