Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
E
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
E
Was looking to get some knee high rubber boots for hunting. I know a lot of guides wear the Xtratufs and I beleive they are made in the U.S. In other parts of the country guys like Lacrosse but I've heard they have druability issues since moving production to China. Are Xtratufs good, durable boots? ANy other recommendations?

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Might look at Muck boots. I've got a pair I've been wearing every weekend for the last 3 years. Usually go for a 2-3 mile hike every Sat. and Sun. rain or shine. I live in Oregon, so it's not as cold, but is plenty wet.
These boots seem to be holding up good.
Virgil B.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I wear the x-tra tuff's for moose hunting. Of course they don't breate but ya just live with it. The trick to wearing them all day is to get them big enough to put an insulated insert in the bottom (not the full size liner). Then put a good quality arch support on that. I use arch supports by Danner. You can wear them all day in relative comfort this way. Since we're in the bush for the entire moose season (about 3 weeks), take a tube of "Goop" with you. Should you get a hole in one, it'll repair it. That's what we do. Hope this helps. Later, Bear in Fairbanks

"Unless you're the lead dog, the scenery never changes."
Amazingly, I've lived long enough to see a President who is worse than Carter.
And finally,
Gun control means using two hands.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
The nice things about X-tra tuffs, is they also come in an insulated model.

My Next Husband Will Be Normal- T. Shirt
H
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
H