#2675723 12/26/08
B
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
B
Hello, I am new at the camp fire.
Any fellow 32-20 lovers here?

I still hunt with a Marlin 32-20 loaded with handloads or the old 80 grain hi velocity bullets from long ago.

I also have a 3rd generation Colt Custom Shop SAA 32-20. I carry this one horseback and out in the field hunting pigs. Would those old rifle only loads be okay in it? Seems like the SAA is okay for the 357, and the rifle loads were no where near the 357 pressure wise. Seems ok.

Also, anybody got any good 32-20 stories?
Thanks.

GB1

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
I don't think you will blow up a SAA with .32-20 rifle only loads, but unless you wear earmuffs when you're horseback, you'll be pretty deaf after you touch one off. Try it in low light and enjoy the fireworks show.

Been there, done that with a 6 in Police Positive.

Proudly representing oil companies, defense contractors, and firearms manufacturers since 1980. Because merchants of death need lawyers, too.
S
Campfire Oracle
Campfire Oracle
S
Shot a rabid raccoon with a Marlin 1894 32/20 once.

"Dear Lord, save me from Your followers"
M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
I once bought a nice old Winchester Low Wall that originally was a .32 rimfire, but the bore was rusted out. So I had it relined and firing pin converted to make it a .32-20. Unfortunately all I has then was a nice old .32-20.

I'm kind of joking about that, but kind of not. I still have a T/C Contender handgun barrel for the .32-20 but can't figure out what the round is really good for. It may be the ultimate stalking cartridge for javelina, a pretty limited use. Anybody else have suggestions?

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
D
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
D