Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
V
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
V
Got a chance to grab one (30" octagonal barrel, higher grade wood, silver fore-end tip, pistol grip, ladder sights), for a not bad price.

Any thoughts on them?

Oh, it's a '90, and I can like that......... wink

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
45-90, 50-90 or 1990??? wink

I really like my rolling block (an original, not a Pedersoli). Had I had it built and finished before I ordered my Shiloh Sharps, I wouldn't have ordered the Sharps. If you're asking about a XX-90, I think you would like either the 50 or the 45. I have no great experience with either, though, as I only have boring 45-70's . . .

Someday I hope to be the person my dogs think I am . . .
The only true cost of having a dog is its death.
Someone once said "a nation of sheep will beget a government of wolves."
Shiloh Sharps . . . there is no substitute.
NRA Endowment Member
V
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
V
Sorry, .45-90.

P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
There are no flies on the Pedersolis, or the .45-90. It has all the power any sane person would ever need, meaning it can handle targets to 1000 yards or more, and kill just about anything that walks. It not difficult to load for, although brass is a bit more than .45-70. You can use .45-70 loading dies, at least I have been able to do so. Most .45-90 shooters go with Starline brass. It's good stuff, although it needs to be annealed. Pretty routine step for us BPCR shooters.

If the price is right, I'd say go for it.

Paul

Stupidity has its way, while its cousin, evil, runs rampant.
V
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
V
Well, I got it.

Rifle (sans venier sight), Lyman 3-die set, 100 cases (97 virgin), and I'm into it less than $700.........

I can live with that.

IC B2

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
Are you planning on using black or smokeless?

V
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
V