Print Thread
Hop To
M
Murphy Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
M
A delimna has arrived. I am going to order a new Sharps next week, maybe week after, whenever I get to Big Timber. I think the 45's are very good versatile calibers but too common amongst the BPC shooters. I want to be different and am considering a 50 2.5" in a saddle rifle, with a 26" inch heavy-half barrel, with some minor upgrades. What thinks ye folks in regard to its use as a hunting rifle, not the target line for this one. I have a similar saddle rifle in 40-70 SS with standard weight etc. What about the 26", should I go longer with the fifty? It is essentially a ninty grain case, more or less depending on powder used and bullet type.

GB1

P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
I have no experience with .50s, but why don't you ask your question over on the Shiloh forum? There seem to be a few .50 shooters that hang out there. Kurt comes to mind.

Sounds like a cool rifle, but all Shilohs are cool.

Paul

Stupidity has its way, while its cousin, evil, runs rampant.
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Wonderful rifles with more built in quality than any other production firearm I know of in the states. The suggestion to go straight to the source (Shilo forum) is a good one. Think you will find that you're really not being a radical at all with the 50. Be prepared for a fairly long weight. I'd order it now.

1Minute
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I've shot a 5090 in a Shiloh. There's a reason they send the standard weight barrels back to get the heavyweights installed.
If you want something "different" in the saddle rifle might think about the 44-77. If you're dead set on a 50 go with the LRE, or a #1 with the heavy octagon 32 inch.
50's a good shooter but the recoil is about like a 12ga 3in.in the heavy guns, makes my eyes cross just thinking about it in the saddle rifle.

the most expensive bullet there is isn't worth a plug nickel if it don't go where its supposed to.