-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I have a wingmaster that I wanted to use for turkey hunting. I dulled the stock with a pumice/oil mixture and rubbed it in with a felt pad. It worked beautifully and looks almost as if it came from the factory with this finish.

I tried wet sanding and steel wool but it scratches the finish moreso than dulls it. Pumice gave me a completely dull finish without any visible scratches.

Will

Smellin' a lot of 'if' coming off this plan.
GB1

O
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
O
Birchwood Casey stock sheen and conditioner might do the trick. It cleans accumulated crud off stocks and will soften down the high gloss.

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Originally Posted by Penguin
I have a wingmaster that I wanted to use for turkey hunting. I dulled the stock with a pumice/oil mixture and rubbed it in with a felt pad. It worked beautifully and looks almost as if it came from the factory with this finish.

I tried wet sanding and steel wool but it scratches the finish moreso than dulls it. Pumice gave me a completely dull finish without any visible scratches.

Will

Pumice is a bit coarser than rottenstone and will leave some scratches in the finish. Of course the way my eyes have gone I need glasses to tell that. Some folks do indeed start with pumice and then move to rottenstone for gloss reducing.
art

Mark Begich, Joaquin Jackson, and Heller resistance... Three huge reasons to worry about the NRA.
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Originally Posted by OldRooster
Birchwood Casey stock sheen and conditioner might do the trick. It cleans accumulated crud off stocks and will soften down the high gloss.

And it is wax and rottenstone paste.

Mark Begich, Joaquin Jackson, and Heller resistance... Three huge reasons to worry about the NRA.
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Originally Posted by oldman1942