-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I've been reloading for almost 50 years. I've loaded tens of thousands of rifle, pistol and shotgun shells. Then today I get a call from a friend who I'd loaded some .500 S&W shells for. He shot 3 shots from his .500 and on the 4th shot, it just went pop. The bullet left the case and stopped just as it entered the barrel to the point where it was hard to open the cylinder. When the cylinder was opened all the powder came out of the case. When he first told me this, I thought I'd missed putting powder in the case. I'm alway checking to see that I've charged all the cases. What the heck happened? I'd just loaded some .500s for this guy a couple of weeks ago, and we'd shot about 20 of them with no problem. The primer went off. It takes a large rifle primer, which is what I had. I checked that. If it had enough power to push the bullet out, why didn't the powder ignite??? I can 99.9% rule out any moister/ water/ oil in the case to damage the powder. I've NEVER had, or heard of anything like this before. Any input as to what could of caused this would be appreciated. I tumbled the cases and always take a small allen wrench to pop out any material that may of gotten in the flash holes from the tumbling process. Even if there were some material in the flash hole, the primer ignited and pushed the bullet out, so the fire did get past the flash hole. Any ideas????? Thanks.

Last edited by hunter01; 01/16/10.
GB1

M
MZ5 Offline
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
It's one of the things you've already ruled out.

C
C
I had a problem with H110 in a 357 mag years ago. It did the same thing the charge was right so the only thing I could figure was the powder was bad in someway.

Cal30

If it cant be grown it has to be mined!!
A proud member of Newmonts udergound Mine rescue team.

A most noble profession
M
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
M