Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by lodgepole
Originally Posted by Idaho_Biker
.270 for my money, a little flatter, a little faster, 140 gr. works for me, reaches out to around 400 yds mostly for deer here in Idaho, still based on an .06 case. Both are great cartridges and no matter where you are if you forget your ammo you'll be able to always find .270 or .06, try that with a 35 Whelen.

Not trying to be a turd but have you ever heard of anyone who went on a hunting trip and forgot their ammo? I've been hunting since the late 1960s and I never heard of anyone who forgot their ammo and had to save the trip by going to the local hardware store in some small town and picking up ammo.

I've run out of ammo and had to buy shotgun shells locally but thats another story.

Forgetting their ammo no....running out while hunting antelope yes!! I guided a guy one time that used up both boxes of .300 win. mag. that he brought in a three day stretch. We fetched some more at the local hardware store and continued on....he finally got his buck on day four...that record still stands, 68 shots fired!

Last edited by scenarshooter; 05/22/10.

Luck....is the residue of design...
[Linked Image]
GB1

S
Campfire Oracle
Campfire Oracle
S
Betting he was an MPBR guy.....

"Dear Lord, save me from Your followers"
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
He was....but I made him hunt with a cold chamber....grin!

[Linked Image]
Campfire Oracle
Campfire Oracle
Pat..you are a nicer man than me...( than I ( ? )..)

I havent shot 68 rounds at antelope in my life and someone like that, who has so little regard for the game, lets just say wouldn't have got to shoot 68 rounds at them either.... whistle

Ingwe

"...the left considers you vermin, and they'll kill you given the chance..." Bristoe
L
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
L