Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Lee,
I have been shooting and loading for my 340 10 years now.
I like everything about it except the recoil.
That being said, I have never tried anything lighter than 225 grains-I have a hunch a guy could use a 210gr partition or TSX and cut out a fair bit of the sting on the butt end.
Favorite load for mine is a 225gr A-Frame or TSX ahead of RL25 and FED 215GM primers.
I see just under 3100 fps and very good accuracy.

Have fun.
grin

"For joy of knowing what may not be known we take the golden road to Samarkand."
James Elroy Flecker

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Had one for a while, awesome round. With 250 or heavier bullets I had to practice a fair bit to be comfortable with it; with the 225's it wasn't much different than a stiff 300Win load.

I'll never own one again as I own a great 358 Norma on a CRF M70 (you'll appreciate that part!), but I would like the rifle just as much if it was a 340.

Anybody who seriously concerns themselves with the adequacy of a Big 7mm for anything we hunt here short of brown bear, is a dufus. They are mostly making shidt up. Crunch! Nite-nite!

Stolen from an erudite CF member.
KDK Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
This is directed at Lee, but anybody can answer: will a .340 fit in a new (SC) M70? I know I could build one on a Rem 700, but I kinda like M70s (though you wouldn't know it by looking at my safe!).

Originally Posted by ingwe
This is a shooting forum, there is no place here for logic.
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by cooperfan
Why get a 340 when the 375H&H has a lot more versatility? Shoot 235 grain Barnes triple shocks at elk, bear, moose etc. 300's for dangerous game.