Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
JonS Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
J
I have a Kimber Montana .260 on which I can't seem to get used to the safety. I started shooting Remington rifles and prefer the slide safety. On the Montana, it doesn't feel right for me. I shot some Remington 140 Corelokts out of it and got 1.25 inch groups for the 10 rounds I put through it.
Bore is shiny and bright, no rust, no freckling, just a good clean rifle.
It is a 3 position safety, works flawlessly, barrel is 21" long, can get a weight later, but if I recall it was just over 6 lbs with rings and a sling.
It will come with a Kimber bore guide, the original Kimber scope mounts, in the first two pics, they are silver and in fine shape. Currently it wears a 2.5-8 x 36 Leupold VX iii, it is not included in the price of $900. Not sure if I will put it on my Model 7 .260 that I now have and love, so the right offer might make it come your way as well. That scope sits in Talley LW high rings, They can be had for $25 more. I won't sell those until the rifle goes as they make a nice couple.
It was originally purchased from a member here, here is what he said about it:
"So there are no surprises this rifle has been to Kimber for poor accuracy and feeding. The feeding was corrected by Kimber. The accuracy problem was later attributed to a bad crown and a mag box that was screwing with the bedding job. It was sent to Hill Country Rifles for a check up and they kissed the crown and pronounced it good to go. I also applied the Ultra bore coat as directed and it works very well. Of course as it usually goes the rifle immediately went sub moa with almost everything tried. The stock was done in a base of duracoat with a multicoat speckled finish over the top that leaves a nice texture."

I asked about reloading for it when I thought I would train myself to learn a new safety and here is what I have in response: