Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
I carry 2 of the Gator ATS-34's in my elk pack and only one during deer season.

Just purchased a R. A. Matt knife from a member here that my son might get to try out as well.

I also bought that "super-duper surgically sharp, perhaps over-priced, razor blade set" with 100 blades for skinin' this year. I'm thinkin' they'll work just fine for either elk or deer, but will be a bit more conservative in my caping and skinning approach given you don't want to make any mistakes with these puppies........eek.

Last edited by magnumb; 09/28/10.
GB1

L
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
L
I've been using Japanease made Browning knives for a few years now and they're great.

You see in this world, there's two kinds of people my friend; those with loaded guns, and those who dig. You dig.

J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J
I got my wife a Buck Vanguard a few years ago, but I end up taking it with me. Holds an edge too.

jpb Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by Fort_Henry_Custom_Knife
As a Dealer and a Hunter I've handled and used alot of different knives.

My choice for a fixed in your price range would be the Spyderco Billl Moran. Amazing value in top notch materials.

I have one of these knives. I was a bit doubtful regarding the shape of the handle (tapers at the butt), but it is one of the most comfortable knives for really extended use (in my case, skinning a moderately big bull moose). The handle has soft rubbery inserts which are easily seen on the orange handle model.

Blade holds a great edge too! It is VG10 -- mine is soon ready to be sharpened for the very first time, and it has been used a lot...

[Linked Image]

Knifecenter.com has them for $US 76, a similar model with orange handle has a bit less up sweep on the blade:

[Linked Image]

John

Last edited by jpb; 09/29/10.
T
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T