Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
B
quick question: is there any benefit to quenching brass imediently after annealing?

I am a total novice when it comes to annealing. I have done a small batch of unknown round count .223 and think they turned out fine. I used a socket and rotated them through the flame of a portable torch with my portable screwdriver. I got the 'discoloration' on the neck just like the new LC brass. I did not drop the cases into water, and I was just wondering if there was any benefit to doing so.

Any annealers care to shed some light on the subject?

Thanks,
burt2506

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
I don't do a lot of annealing but I can explain how its done by me.

I hold the case in my fingers and rotate the case through the flame of a propane torch while counting one thousand, two thousand, up to either 6 or 7 thousand while watching the colour of the case. When it starts to glow red I immediately quench it in cold water.

Using this method, and being sure to only apply the heat to just barely below the case shoulder, I have found the cases to be improved to the point where the number of resizings can be increased by several reloadings. I know this system is inexact compared to what some on this forum do but by using my bare fingers to hold the cases I can quickly tell if the case is in danger of being over heated.

Specifically in reply to your question, yes I believe quenching is desirable.

Jim

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
I am 'self taught"...

for 223 brass, I hold it into a flame from a propane torch, mounted on a 7 gallon tank I got for free...on an extension tree that was also free...

I hold the 223 brass in the flame ( using a needle nose pliers) at the shoulder so that the neck gets the flame also.. and count to five.. and then drop it into a small metal decorative bucket I picked up at Walmart for a dollar..

mine just air cool...