Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#50817 02/07/02
dave7mm Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
I have been shooting a 280 Ackley improved for about 16 years now.Ive played with others but the AI is the game getter and I never found much of anything I like better.So about 2 years ago I started looking into what would beat my 280.There are lots of cartridges that will beat the performance of a 280 AI but its like there is always this trade off between performance power and recoil.And yet you still have to be able to carry the thing around.The big 30s
<br>are great at long range but a big 30 unbraked in a 8/10 lb rifle will kick the crap out of you.I will use a break when I need to but I dont care for the noise.So I ruled a break out.I looked real hard at the 240 and the 257 Weatherbys.
<br>The only problem is that I had one about 18 years ago,a 7mm
<br>in a mark 5 action.I could never get it to shoot very well.In fact i did get it to shoot MOA but you had to run at 7-08 velocity to do it.I pounded on it for a year and gave up and sold it.This experance turned me off to magnums and Weatherbys and freebore for a very long time.
<br>

[Linked Image]

Only accurate rifles are interesting.
GB1

dave7mm Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
So then I started looking at a 25 STW.Very interesting.The thing I dont like about the STW is the brass.I have fought with 280 Rem brass for years.Theres alot better brass out there than Rem.I know.So finally I dug up an old Precision Shooting article by a guy named Richard Kayser who developed a 25 cal wildcat called a 257 Banshee.This case is based on the RWS 8x68s round.It has a 35 degree shoulder and min body taper,It also had a tight neck.I read up what I could on it.
<br>Very impressive performance.
<br>Pak Nor has a reamer but reloading dies are hard to find.
<br>

[Linked Image]

dave7mm Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter